“Stupid Icky Valentine’s Day Cards”

IMG_8289.JPG

So what do you think about love, not romantic love, but just the “love your neighbor as yourself” kind of love? Is it okay to look for loopholes? Save the best things for the people you like the most?

Well, it is tempting, isn’t it? And there are goofy cards in the Valentine’s Day card packages that they sell to children? (Is that so you have to buy two packages to give everyone a good card?)

For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet only your brothers and sisters, what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matthew 5:46-48 (NRSV)

There is One who always gives His best, who gave His Body, His Blood, His Heart for us all. This, I believe, is Real Life Jesus.

So for everyone that I ever gave a “Sour Old Pickle” card too, I’m really sorry!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

8 thoughts on ““Stupid Icky Valentine’s Day Cards”

  1. Charities oftentimes get items that are nicknamed SWEDOW – Stuff We Don’t Want, items like high-heel shoes, halloween costumes, expired food – stuff that’s too useless, bad, or just plain wrong and shouldn’t be given out to people in need. That’s a kind of love the world doesn’t need anymore of – hoarding the good stuff and giving the bad stuff.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I do remember giving my prettiest cards to my best friends. I may have given ugly ones to those I didn’t like. Probably did.

    What do I think about loving the unlovable? If we don’t love a person or a group of people, we must pray until we do. God will always come through for us. We can’t do it without him.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree. Not always easy, particularly when it seems that some people see to go out of their way to be unloveable through bitterness, negativity, and just general grumpiness! I wonder though if all of that isn’t a cry for help and underneath it all they are desperate for love and acceptance. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I was an outcast for awhile – unlovable. When my sense of trust in others had been repeatedly broken, all my best friends turned out to be all my worst enemies, and nobody seemed to want me around – it made me difficult to be around. When that sense of rejection became my only ally, I felt that the only common denominator in all my failed relationships was me – there must be something wrong with me that people didn’t like me, couldn’t trust me, didn’t want to be around me and that I was essentially unlovable. There’s a point where it’s nearly impossible to find a positive ray of light to break through that dark and stormy sky. I got to the point where I just expected to be left alone because I wasn’t worth other people’s time and I didn’t make it easy for people to reach me because I was certain as soon as I let someone, anyone in, they’d see me for the frightened kid I was who didn’t have any friends and they’d leave me alone – hurting me all over again. The kind of rejection that hurts most is when someone gets to know you only to turn around one day and tell you that they don’t want you in their lives anymore. So what did I do? I hid from the world for a whole decade – mostly going to all the wrong churches thinking that at least God would have my back. Had I gone to the right church, things might have turned out differently but I just don’t have that kind of luck. Being unlovable might be our only defense in a world that will stop at nothing to bring us down. Do people like me a favor – love us anyway. Give us a chance to tear down this wall we’ve built brick-by-brick. Prove that we can trust you no matter how much we put you to the test. Will it be easy? No, it’ll be the hardest thing for both of us. But please, try to see us for who we are – and not just as “the unlovable”.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jamie, reading this, I can feel some of what you must have felt and still feel at times. Hopefully things have gotten somewhat better, particularly since you began with saying you had been an outcast “for a while.”

        I wish that I had some words to make it better for you. Maybe you find some help in the posts that you read throughout WordPress?

        In reading through some of the comments about this post I’m wondering now, “Is it really that someone is ‘unlovable’ OR perhaps maybe that person is so unique and excitingly different that others who just don’t know ‘how to love’ that person?” Could be something to develop into a future post.

        As always, thanks for sharing, and I do sincerely hope that I can help take down a brick or two.

        Like

      2. I’ve made a lot of progress – enough to finally begin talking about it. So more and more light is breaking through every day. Last year I wouldn’t have said even half as much. Having been an outsider looking in, I kept an eye on the social behavior of insiders trying to figure them out. It’s easy to see the “us vs them” mentality that comes into play on both sides. The tricky part always seems to be finding a way to accept one of them as one of us.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. To be honest, I was thinking about my youngest sister, whom I love so much. Because of her childhood, she could be sharp-tongued, and she was full of anger. If a person disagreed with her, she took it as a personal attack and would react badly. People in our family had a very hard time even being around her. Even my mother had had enough of her.

        The thing is, I understood why she was acting that way. Well, I didn’t understand everything, but I knew she loved us and she was in pain. My daughters didn’t like being around her either.

        Well, she got sick and couldn’t work any longer and was homeless so she came and lived with my husband and I. It was difficult at first, but luckily, my husband had grown up in an angry home, so it didn’t bother him. I was used to my husband getting angry at everything, so it didn’t bother me much either. I just tried to show her that we could disagree and still love one another.

        Anyway, she became sicker at our house because of the allergies in this part of Canada. She moved down to Washington State because there are few allergens there. She lived in her van for 2 yrs. or so and then was able to buy an old trailer and lives in that.

        So, where was I? Oh yeah, my sister has changed by becoming close to God. She still has a temper, but not like before. No one in the family ever told her how they felt about her, thank God. We see her maybe once a year.

        I also know someone who lots of people dislike because she always runs out of money two days after payday and then asks to borrow money. When I met her and got to know her through my mother, I could tell she wasn’t quite “normal”. Then she told me she was in a huge car crash when she was 15 and almost died. Her brain was damaged. So, people avoided her but she really couldn’t help being who she was. I love her like crazy and thank God my husband is kind and loans her money every month. She pays us back and needs money the next week. Lol

        I count myself as “unloveable” in a way. I have a mental illness and sometimes embarrass my daughters. I’ve been a pain in the ass to my husband; but then, he has been one to me also only in a different way. Okay, this is really long, I know. It is just I wanted to make clear I didn’t mean to hurt your feelings or anyone else’s feelings. I’m sure you are not unloveable. School is a terrible place to put children and teenagers. We learn terrible lessons there. I never kept any friends either. I have none now and haven’t for 25 years. My mom, who is 89, still hears from her school pals!

        Like

Leave a Reply

